• “Definitely worth a visit! A cute, small shop, which impresses with rustic charm.”

    Anna

    Victorian Shop & Parlour
  • “Wonderful place. Small, but well worth a visit.”

    Helen

    Victorian Shop & Parlour
  • “Quirky little gem that is worth seeking out to reveal a little of the real history of St Peter and the island. Intriguing links with Victor Hugo and Les Miserables too!”

    Philip

    Victorian Shop & Parlour

Victorian Shop & Parlour

2021 opening dates and times

Tue 13 April until Sat 25 Sep
Open 10.00am - 4.00pm
Closed Sunday

Information

National Trust of Guernsey purchased this fine townhouse in 1983 and the restored Victorian Shop features its legendary sweet counter, a traditional wooden till and a fascinating array of stock. Haberdashers will be intrigued by a remarkable array of vintage items, from buttons to lace and textiles, unique to No. 26 Cornet Street. The property is believed to be the earliest complete medieval building in St. Peter Port. 

No. 26 is just a short walk up the hill from the Town Church and en route to Victor Hugo's Hauteville House.


Explore

The National Trust of Guernsey purchased this fine townhouse in 1983. 

More info
How to find us

Perry's guide: SPP 5L8-M9

Bus routes: Any bus route ending at St Peter Port terminus

Location: 26 Cornet Street, St. Peter Port, GY1 1LF

Facilities and Access

Geocaching: No

Parking: No. Nearest public parking 5 mins walk

Family: Yes

Refreshments: No

WC: No

Access: Wheelchair access to the front part of the shop – please ask at shop entry

Terrain: N/A

“A beautifully restored Victorian Shop and Parlour – a living museum of times gone by.”

Victorian Shop & Parlour

2021 opening dates and times

Tue 13 April until Sat 25 Sep
Open 10.00am - 4.00pm
Closed Sunday

“A beautifully restored Victorian Shop and Parlour – a living museum of times gone by.”

The National Trust of Guernsey purchased this fine townhouse in 1983. 

Set above the  town in Cornet Street, it is believed to be  the earliest complete medieval building in St. Peter Port. Built between 1690 and 1710 with considerable improvements in about 1750, the property was in the ownership of the Le Poidevin family from the late 1870s to the early 1960s. At the time of acquisition by the Trust, the property was in a sorry state. 

The National Trust initiated a five-year programme of restoration, helped by a generous grant from Sarnia Memorial Trust. Traditional materials were used wherever possible. Of particular note are the curved shutters on the bow windows of the shop. Opened and closed by their original mechanism, they are, as far as is known, one of only two such sets of curved shutters in the British Isles. 

The restored shop was opened in September 1987, by the then Bailiff, Sir Charles Frossard. The Victorian shop style has been retained and the front counter is a traditional sweet shop, where favourite varieties are measured out in ounces from glass jars into cone-shaped paper bags. The shop also sells an array of traditional gifts, National Trust of Guernsey souvenirs, locally-handcrafted and collectors’ items. 

Download Guide